Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-21-2007, 08:14 PM

Default Okinawa Trip report (long with pics.)

I’ve been exchanging letters for more than ten years with this friend, who lives in Okinawa, Japan. She asked me a few times to visit her, but I wasn’t in a mood for a trip. The last few trips that I took were poker trips to Vegas, not a “real” trip. To be honest, I wasn’t sure whether or not I enjoy going to unknown places and just chill. I used to enjoy traveling, but I sort of lost that desire. I got older I guess.

I live in Chicago suburb, and the last winter was very cold. I was surprised to here on the news that the winter was mild this year. Yes, I’m getting old, and one day when the cold weather was bothering me hard, I received a letter from her asking me to come to visit her. Okinawa is pretty warm, so I wrote her back and said “I’ll be there.”

The plane arrived at night at Naha airport in Okinawa. Plants and flowers were all over the place, and that was nice.

I picked up my luggage and went out to look for my friend. She found me first, and that was the first time I saw her in more than 10 years, but she almost looked younger. She rented a “Kei,” which is a car with an engine less than 0.66L!

While we’re driving back to her apartment, we passed a US military base or two. Now, I’m not hear to judge whether it’s a good idea to have them in Okinawa or not, but one thing for sure, it’s not an easy topic to discuss. Apparently some of the Japanese people are greatly benefited from the bases because they are leasing the land to the US (and the lease is paid by the Japanese Government???) But some people look at it as noise pollution. I was in Okinawa for only 3 days, but I can’t count the times I heard military planes flew above us.

Her apartment was better than I was expected.