Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-18-2007, 10:53 PM

Default Adjusting to NL200

Hi all,

This is my first real post here I think. I have been a lurker for about 6 months or so. I'll give you a little bit of my poker history. If you don't care, just skip the rest of this paragraph. I have been playing real money games for about 8 months now, starting at the micros and working my way up to NL200. Before that I learned the basics on play money tables. Don't take this the wrong way, I can assure you that I read 2+2 nearly daily, as well as some other forums and while I realize that I probably have several leaks in my game, I am a winner at the micros. While I enjoy the occasional SNG or MTT, I feel cash is the most profitable game for me. I have always kept at least 20 buy in's for my level, while taking occasional shots at the next level. I have recently grown my bankroll to the point where I am rolled to play NL200, but still play the 100's as well. I have also done some experimenting with shortstacking NL200. While it has gone well, I really prefer to play with a full stack.

My real question is adjusting to the playing style of NL200 players. Let me just post a hand to illustrate. Sorry, no hand converter. I play on Poker.com, and have not found a way to post the hand histories. Also no pokertracker of course.

The hand is NL$200 full ring.

Folded around to me and I raise AA to $8 from middle position.
Only villain in the big blind calls. I cover villain's $191 stack.
Flop A 7 4 rainbow (pot=$16)
villain checks
hero bets $12
villain calls $12
Turn 2 completing the rainbow (pot=$40)
villain bets $41
hero calls $41
River J (pot=$122)
villain bets $130 (all-in)
hero calls $130
Final pot = $382

Yes, he had 35 clubs. The only club on the flop was the A.