Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Politics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-16-2007, 08:46 PM

Default Thoughts regarding Virginia Tech shooting

I was thinking about the statement someone said earlier in the BBV4LIFE thread about not really caring about the incident because he is a non-american. He received alot of angry responses but I actually think this perspective is totally acceptable despite his insensitivity. I'm a North American university student who can certainly empathize with the victims in this situation.

The outrage and public shock of the shooting is so large because it was on American soil, affected a major demographic of the vocal/affluent subset of society that is considered the general public, and was carried out in a shockingly violent manner (yes a similar incident in a third world country with high death rates would still be a major news story).

To say this isn't a major tragedy, shouldnt get major coverage, etc. is stupid but I can understand why some people might feel bitter about the response. The hundreds if not thousands of people that die preventable deaths each day that go largely ignored (in comparison to sudden shock events such as this) despite our awareness of their plight is the worlds biggest tragedy. The fact that we (as a canadian i feel that americans and canadians are generally indistinguishable) find so much more outrage in a tragedy such as this than in the many pandemics being suffered around the world (aids/hunger/drought in africa etc.) signifies an inherent nationalist and neo-racist perspective that frightens me. I really hope that people begin to consider themselves foremost as global citizens within my lifetime.