Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-10-2007, 02:15 AM

Default Help me understand quarterly payments to the IRS

What are the benefits of making payments quarterly? Am i required to do so as a pro poker player? Will i end paying more in taxes if i simply wait and pay them all at once at the beginning of the new year? Thanks.
Old 04-10-2007, 02:28 AM

Default Re: Help me understand quarterly payments to the IRS

from my understanding, quarterly payments are not mandatory, however, if you do not pay them, you may owe interest to the IRS. i could be totally wrong though, and fwiw, this is my first year filing as a pro, and I plan on making an estimated payment to the IRS for the first quarter this week.
Old 04-10-2007, 02:36 AM

If have to write the IRS a check on April 15, you also owe interest and penalties, unless you satisfy a bunch of conditions (you are only on the hook for penalties up to your previous year's tax, for instance). The way to avoid interest and penalties is to make quarterly payments.
Old 04-10-2007, 02:37 AM

If you don't file quarterly taxes, you can get penalized. However, it is my understanding that you only half to pay as much as you paid the previous tax year. So, suppose you file your taxes for 2006, and show that you owe $8,000. You pay your $8,000. In addition, you should now pay $2,000 every quarter ($8,000 divided by 4). If you don't, you will pay extra in interest and penalties.

***Disclaimer: I am not a CPA. You should not rely on what I am saying. Talk with your CPA for tax advice.
Old 04-10-2007, 02:39 AM

Location: just a skinny azzzed short stacking gossip hurling trouble maker

all self employed people and those who do not have taxes removed from their paycheck pay estimated 4 quarterlies equal to 110% of your prior years total tax.
Old 04-10-2007, 03:04 AM

[ QUOTE ]