Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-05-2007, 04:59 PM

Default Comments on my prospective portfolio?

Ok, I'm 23 so I've got 37-42 until I want to retire, so I want my portfolio to be moderately aggressive. I'd also prefer something a little heavier on the Intl/Small/Value side of things than avg. (35-40% Intl, pref)
I'm pretty new to this (all I have so far in experience is $500 in AGTHX, which is the ONLY reason it's even in my prospective portfolio).
I talked to a financial adviser, and he suggested that I allocate my funds somewhere along the lines of:

International (45%):
- Small Value and Blend 28%
- Large Value and Blend 17%

US (55%):
- Split equally 4 ways between small value, small blend, large value, and large blend.

I'm about to mail out a check to Schwab to start an account with them, and I'm trying to put together some idea of where I want to be at the end of this year.

I'm thinking something like this:

I understand the basic concept of keeping your expenses low, but I'm not really sure how to interprete a couple of the stock stats, or what type of allocation I should be trying to achieve in the stock type and sector.

Comments on this? Suggestions?
Much thanks! [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Edit: Oh, and this porfolio consists of:

AGTHX - $500
DIISX - $1000
DISSX - $1000
UMBIX - $1500
LZOEX - $1000
NOSGX - $1500
LZSMX - $1000

Old 04-05-2007, 05:01 PM

Default Re: Comments on my prospective portfolio?

Use vanguard. Lower expense ratio tho you may find it hard to get small cap international from them.
Old 04-05-2007, 05:14 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Use vanguard. Lower expense ratio tho you may find it hard to get small cap international from them.

[/ QUOTE ]

I use Vanguard, but there are two shortcomings:

1) No small cap international. I'm going to have to look into fixing this in the future, not sure how though.