Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Home Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-01-2007, 11:37 PM

Default double the stakes in my cash game?

ive been hosting a cash game for the past two months which meets twice a week with .25/.50 blinds. usually 5-8 players with varying degrees of skill...most of it soft.

over the past two months ive built a $500 bankroll which equates to ten 100bb buyins.

i was thinking of raising the stakes to .5/1 which gives me 5 buyins and then return to .25/.50 if i lose two buyins.

how do feel about this?
Old 04-01-2007, 11:47 PM

Default Re: double the stakes in my cash game?

[ QUOTE ]
how do feel about this?

[/ QUOTE ]

It doesn't matter how WE feel about it- how will your other players feel about it?

I would recommend you don't jump the gun yet on the stakes- you've only played 18 times, not enough to determine if you can maintain that level of gain long-term.
Old 04-01-2007, 11:51 PM

Yeah, uh, remember that others play in your game, too.

Blinds don't really matter in NL as much as chips on the table, anyway. Sounds like you have $50 buyins. Plenty to keep you active and profitable at the current level, whereas raising it can bust you out sooner and scare away the easier money.
Old 04-02-2007, 12:05 AM

yes, i thought of this and asked them. out of about 20 people who come and go, half like it as it is and the other half want to raise it.
Old 04-02-2007, 12:31 AM

5 buy ins = very few. I'd keep doing .25/.50, but if you want to raise it, and half the group does, half doesn't, maybe instead of making it .50/1.00, put it somewhere between.

.40/.80 for example...Sorta weird, but whatever. 5 buy ins is not enough in my opinion.
Old 04-02-2007, 12:46 AM

uhhh. dont do .40/.80 plz..

just stay at .25/.50 for a while longer and build up your roll some more...Its hard to have other people adjust to your bankroll
Old 04-02-2007, 01:45 AM