Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-31-2007, 11:29 AM

Default My Reading List

I am a total newb when it comes to finances, investing, RE, or just overall money in general. I searched through listmania on amazon and put together 8 books that I am shooting to read to get myself started. See what you guys think, and any other recommendations or revisions are more than welcome. Thanks...

1. Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki
2. Personal Finance for Dummies by Eric Tyson
3. The Millionaire Next Door by Thomas Stanley
4. Building Wealth: Achieving Personal and Financial Success in Real Estate and Business Without Money, Credit, or Luck by Russ Whiney
5. Investing in Real Estate by Andrew James Mclean
6. Focus on Personal Finance: An Active Approach to Help You Develop Successful Financial Skills by Jack Kapoor
7. The Neatest Little Guide to Stock Investing by Jason Kelly
8. The Origin and Evolution of New Businesses by Amar Bhide

G
Old 03-31-2007, 11:55 AM

Default Re: My Reading List

What are your investment objectives?
Old 03-31-2007, 12:29 PM

in total newb i mean TOTAL newb. im not sure how to answer your question other than to say that I want to learn as much as I can about investing and eventually be able to be successful and make money by and selling stocks and real estate.

G
Old 03-31-2007, 01:04 PM

G-Diddy, I would really read The Four Pillars of Investing.

Generally, you're not going to be trying to make money by buying and selling stocks unless you are one of the rare individuals. I would highly suggest you consider indexing, or at least reading about it. When reading the books on your list above, PAY ATTENTION to the stories about throwing darts / chimapanzees / randomly picking stocks from a list.

Good luck
Old 03-31-2007, 03:17 PM

[ QUOTE ]