Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-27-2007, 11:45 PM

Default Need advice on graduate school decision

Cross-posted in the dorm.

I need some advice from you guys about deciding which graduate school to go to. I have been accepted into 2 masters programs so far: Stanford Management Science and Engineering (MS&E) and NYU Mathematics in Finance. I feel these are both very strong programs with their own (different) merits and am having a really hard time choosing between them.

Some background about me: I graduated in mechanical engineering from a top engineering school and decided that I wanted to do something else after undergrad. My academic interests include all sorts of applied math, computer science, and probability and statistics. I have also recently become very interested in the tech industry and entrepreneurship. I don't really have an interest in finance exactly, but from what I've researched, it seems like a good fit for me. The positions that interest me the most are in risk management and quantitative research. Finance also pays very well. Now onto the programs...