Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-24-2007, 03:52 PM

Default moving to 400NL

I know these posts arent popular, but im gonna try anyway.

I've been playing poker for about 2 yrs (1yr seriously). Moved up gradually from 25nl to 200nl with reasonably conservative BR-management. I normally 6-8 table 200nl and ussually consider myself on of the better players at the table. My BR is about 15K now and I have taken shots with variable succes, think im about +1 BI over 1.5k hands, which doesnt really say anything..

I personally think there's a HUGE difference between 1/2 and 2/4, especially PF, which I personally find hard to adjust to. I find that the 1/2 players have really small PFRR ranges and limp call OOP way too often, so they're very exploitable. I also think there's alot more floating, playing back etc, especially IP.

I also think im a bit too tight (19/12/4.5), to really make good money at 2/4. Almost all the regs are 24/16ish, so Im probably going to have to open up my game a bit (advice on that?)

anyway, if you have any advice on adjusting to 400NL I would really appreciate it.

btw: would you consider 15K roll big enough to MT 400nl?

thx,

<--IWS
Old 03-24-2007, 03:56 PM

Default Re: moving to 400NL

play how you play, open your game up first at 1/2 and see if it works if you're trying to loosen up.

15k is fine
Old 03-24-2007, 04:06 PM

Whether you play 19/12 or 24/16 has minimal effect on your winrate. Being aware of how you are perceived and reading hands well will have a huge effect on your winrate.

I personally find it easier to read people's hands if they perceive me as being pretty tight.
Old 03-24-2007, 04:13 PM

15k is good.