Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-2007, 11:40 PM

Default My First 14,000\' Summit and a Ski Descent. Trip Report w/pics

This is very long and I'm a poor writer but I still had the desire to share this. I already posted most of these pics but didn't write up a TR.

My friend Mike and I decided that we would attempt to summit Quandary (14,265’) near Breckenridge Colorado on St. Patrick’s Day. We would also be skiing down. Mike would be telemarking and skinning up and I would be lugging my alpine skis and boots all the way to the summit.

We had unsuccessfully attempted Long’s peak the weekend prior. That failed attempt had started at 2am and ended around sunrise after we realized that we had made a wrong turn and hiked over a mile in the wrong direction. There will be no failures this time.

Mike and I were set to meet at the Golden Park and Ride at 4:30am. At about 11pm the night before I start trying to get some sleep but I have a feeling I won’t be able to. I had gone to bed at 5am the night before and woken up at 3 in the afternoon. After tossing and turning in bed for an hour or so I decide to have a nightcap and take a shot of vodka. Disgusting. I toss and turn for another hour and decide to play poker. I make a few bucks and look at the clock. It was 3:30am. I guess I won’t be sleeping tonight.