Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-14-2007, 04:26 AM

Default Just gone busto, need help

Hi all, this is my first post on the forum, (although I've lurked around here many times before). I started playing poker 2 years ago, and at that time it was merely a hobby. Nonetheless, I turned $50 in PP and $80 in PS to $2500 and $1000 respectively, starting at FR micro and moving up to FR .5/1. My PS account, however, was hacked and all my money was stolen, so i cashed out my PP money and stopped playing for a while.
I started playing again this fall, and after a couple deposits of $50 or $80, I was once again doing well. This time I started on FT with 5.5 SNGs, grinded them to the $10 SNGs until about $500, and then I moved onto cash games. I started with 6max .10/.25, and moved all the way up to .5/1 again with a BR of $3000 (I also took some shots at 3/6 with great success). All was fine until I hit a rut; part of it was me playing poorly, but a lot of it was getting really unlucky, and I dropped 20 buyins at the $100NL level (this was a few days ago).
At first I was distraught, and I took a day off, but then the next day I took a shot at 3/6 NL and I doubled my buyin to around $2100. I decided to fool around, and play this dude heads up at the .5/1 table (he had about $24 or so and looked like a total fish). I put in $25 and played pretty standard, but he kept hitting cards on me. It was seriously a miracle. I'd raise prf, he'd reraise, I call, i catch TPTK on flop and he has the nut straight. I busted prett quickly, like 15 hands in, and I rebought, this time for double the amount. Same thing happened. I was fuming now, and I closed the window and foolishly decided to play $3/6 again. I bust twice to lose pretty much my entire bankroll.