Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-07-2007, 01:33 AM

Default Taking account of M

First post here. I am fairly new to poker and am trying to develop a solid understanding of how to vary my play. One of the things I am trying to understand is M, which I understand is basically a measure of how much time you have left before you die. I have read the recommendations in Harrington's book but applying them in real life is obviously more difficult. Take these three situations:

1) QQ UTG +1. M=7.5 Tight table -- it is just before the bubble in a decent size tourney and people are folding to anything. Is it best to open push or raise this 3-4xBB?

2) Same question with KJo UTG instead. Is my position desperate enough to push this or should I fold and wait for a better spot

3) KJo UTG w/ M=5. Early in the tournament this is an obvious fold, but with the tightness of the table, is this a hand you can legitimately steal with in this situation?

4) Generally, at what M do you guys generally think things become officially desperate, justifying much wilder play.

I apologize if these questions are too elementary for this board. Thanks in advance.
Old 03-07-2007, 01:44 AM

Default Re: Taking account of M

1.) Easy shove with 7.5 M

2.) If the table is still insanely tight and on the bubble also an easy shove with KJ and 7.5 M The key to the open shove is to be the first one in for fold equity so UTG is perfect.

3.) M of 5 is getting very desperate. Probebly a shove with no action in front of you.

4.) Less than 8.
Old 03-07-2007, 03:07 AM

1. Need to go all in
2. Still a push here. If you think the table is so tight you are considering not pushing QQ b/c you wont get called why not push KJ for the same reason of most likely not being called. You need chips
3. All in once again
4. I can wait till around 6
Old 03-07-2007, 03:21 AM

1. Shove