Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Heads Up Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-04-2007, 12:46 PM

Default Help an aspiring HU player (limcash)

Hi all,

I've just put my name down to participate in the Mini-HULA that the micros are running. Sadly, I'm completely new to HU play so I suspect it's going to be an uphill struggle against the many more experienced players. I headed over here hoping that there would be a HU FAQ that would at least give me some starting points but I couldn't find one.

So, in short, I'm looking for some guidance on "how I can get some help and guidance". I appreciate no-one can give me the answers in a post and that posting/reading here along with playing lots of HU games is critical. What I'm hoping for is any pointers along the lines of:

1) read these articles/websites (in addition to this this forum);
2) order these books/DVD's;
3) read anything posted by .......;

For those who are interested, I'm mostly playing FR $1/$2 limit at the moment and I'm ready to move into $2/$4, I've also started working on my 6-max game. I appreciate that HU play is generally for bigger limts & more experienced players: I'm approaching this as a learning expereince that will hopefully help both my FR & 6-max play.
Old 03-04-2007, 02:12 PM

Default Re: Help an aspiring HU player (limcash)

this is by no means an exhaustive FAQ, but here are some of the links that are in my fav threads:

trickiness

blind stealing- this is from a sh forum and is a little dogmatic, but has good overall concepts outlined.

diff headsup blind structures this was a question post of mine initially, but ended up being a pretty good outline of how to approach the two diff headsup blind structures.

dealing with hyperaggressive opponents - this ended up having a kind of challenge at the end of it, but that's less relevant than the theory stuff at the top.