Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-25-2007, 01:32 PM

Default NL10: T8s flops a straight - elementary hand?

I started to post this on the FR forum, but I think it belongs here. I'm playing like a beginner and need to relearn poker from the ground up.

I've been "running" REEEEEALLY bad -- probably based on skill as much as luck -- and that's really warped my perspective of simple hands. It really feels like I'm doing nothing but paying off big hands implying that I'm not very good at NLHE.

No reads, but my PT stats for MP1 are 42/19/2.33 over 64 hands.

And yes, I know this hand is really juvenile (I actually thought it was NL25, but that's fine, I'm playing down since I'm losing so much) but with my confidence shot I really need some perspective here.

And yes, I let myself get mid-stacked, but I'm not convinced that's a bad thing the way I'm bleeding money.

Full Tilt Poker
No Limit Holdem Ring game
Blinds: $0.05/$0.10
8 players
Converter

Stack sizes:
UTG: $10
UTG+1: $2.35
MP1: $23.40
Hero: $6.95
CO: $10.05
Button: $9.95
SB: $9.15
BB: $10

Pre-flop: (8 players) Hero is MP2 with 8[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
UTG (poster) checks, UTG+1 calls, MP1 calls, Hero calls, CO calls, Button calls, SB calls, BB (poster) checks.

Flop: Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] ($0.8, 8 players)
SB checks, BB checks, UTG checks, UTG+1 checks, <font color="#cc0000">MP1 bets $0.15</font>, <font color="#cc0000">Hero raises to $1</font>, 6 folds, MP1 calls.

Turn: 9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] ($2.8, 2 players)
<font color="#cc0000">MP1 bets $0.1</font>, <font color="#cc0000">Hero raises to $2</font>,