Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-2007, 12:18 PM

Default Help with end game (final 4) of tournament

Ok, I'm still really new to playing poker online and at first had some success at 1 table tournaments but lately have had a string of really bad luck. I can almost always seem to get to the final 4 in 9 man tables or final 3 in 6 man tables, but then the blinds are faily high and I will find a hand I feel like I must go all in with after I am under 10 big blinds and get busted out. Now my question is, considering I am at this stage (short stacked and 1 away from the money) and have a not killer hand, but say like A5 so if no one hits I have the high card what should I do? My brother taught me once you get under 10 big blinds it is either all in or fold. With 9 man tables I have been doing turbo tournaments, so maybe I should just go back to regular? Any advice is appreciated.
Old 02-16-2007, 12:20 PM

Default Re: Help with end game (final 4) of tournament

GET SNGPT!
Old 02-16-2007, 12:23 PM

^ or SnGWizard, which has 30-days tryout period.

http://sngwiz.com/

Good luck!
Old 02-16-2007, 12:27 PM

Hi jared, welcome to the forums.

You'll definitely want to read about ICM. If you can afford it, purchasing a tool like SNGPT will help you.

Other than that, it's impossible for us to help you when you make a post this vague. "What do I do at a 4 handed table?" - The answer is, every 4 handed table is different, and every hand you get dealt is a different situation.

A lot of things matter besides your hand and how many people are left. Some things you'll want to think about in EVERY hand are:
- your position
- your stack size
- stack sizes of other people, and their relative position to you
- reads
- there are a host of others.