Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Politics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2006, 09:32 AM

Default Democrats complain about “being kept in the dark...”

...about programs of national security (ie wire tapping & more). I just saw this on my local news, so I don’t have a link. My question is, Why wouldn’t you keep as many people in the dark as possible? It is obvious to me that people can’t keep their mouth shut, and that is not making us any safer. Why do the Democrats think that it is a winning strategy to put Americans in danger for their own political advances? Why would anyone vote for them after doing so? There are certain things that just should not be made public! To use a sports analogy: If you have a problem... work it out in the locker room, not in the press.

As I’ve mentioned before: I’m a political noob, so I’m prepared to be wrong here. It just doesn’t make sense to me.
Old 02-10-2006, 09:56 AM

Default Re: Democrats complain about “being kept in the dark...”

When it comes to issues of security, there are usually Constitutional issues involved. Those in the law enforcement community would prefer everyone be kept in the dark, but the 4th amendment curtails that ability.

Had all these surveillance efforts been carried out after the issue of a warrant, there would be no issue about Congress being informed, because the Constitution would have been satisfied.