Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2007, 07:20 PM

Default What golf set to buy? (for a beginner?)

Im a beginner golfer, im looking for a decent set of inexpensive clubs for a beginner, oversized heads so they're easy to hit, less than $200 and that won't break with 30 strokes. Ive been doing a lot of reading and I have found the following and would like those that know about golf to tell me which one is the best buy. If you know an even better deal post it here.
Dunlop Mens Vision: $170
Wilson set: $169 (better brand than dunlop?)
cougar: only $90!
big 5 sporting goods has a dunlop reaction for $150 (would save me the waiting time of ordering from the net
Basically a decent set of inexpensive clubs that will last me a long time and are easy to hit for a beginner.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:02 PM

Default Re: What golf set to buy? (for a beginner?)

Get some decent used clubs. They'll be better than a new set, if your price range is <$200. Any major manufacturer is fine, get whatever looks/feels good to you.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:07 PM

Check this site out http://rockbottomgolf.com/irons-ironsets.html

I bought some Nike CPR irons from them 1.5 years ago or so for 150. They're really easy to hit and they've held up well even though I've played probably 100 rounds since I got them.

The only problem is this leaves you without extra wedges and woods. You can find pretty good deals on drivers/woods on Ebay though.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:09 PM

For as little as you want to get into, you should look at used, but make sure you know what your getting, you also may want to try Costco/Sams Club they usually have pretty good set of everything for about $250
Old 02-10-2007, 08:14 PM

[ QUOTE ]
For as little as you want to get into, you should look at used, but make sure you know what your getting,

[/ QUOTE ]