Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Home Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-09-2007, 10:43 AM

Default My Effin Home Game Got Robbed!

Ok, I don't host it, but its my regular Wednesday night game. I've played in it every Wednesday night barring vacations and occaisional conflicts for the past ten months.

And the only reason I wasn't there Wednesday, was I was blowing it off in favor of the Duke/Carolina game (to those of you who think that's screwed up priorities, I am a graduate of the finer of those two institutions...ya don't miss that game).

So Wed, no one of my rare no-shows to the game, three guys come in with guns and robbed it.

It's only a lousy .50/1.00 NL game for Christs sake. They made off with about 700 bucks. I'm aware of a half dozen much more lucrative higer stackes games around town just off the top of my head.

It really makes me sick to think that one of the players might have set that up. We have a pretty good pool of players. On any give night the game goes from 8pm to 4 am or later and we get at least 14 guys filtering through (about a quarter of the time we get enought at one time to break into two tables, the rest of the time guys leave and other guys come) so I expect that translates at least 40 and maybe more folks who play in it at least occaissionally and a small core of us who are there every time. So that's a lot of people who know about it.

My wife, by the way, is completely freaking out about it.

The other thing that sucks is that we have a regular thursday night league tourney, hosted at another place, which I don't play in much because I like playing cash better, but I showed up for thursday because of my Wed conflict, and the host had canceled that game because there is a ton of overlap between the players in that game and the one that got robbed and he was understandably nervous.