Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Sporting Events
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-09-2007, 07:31 AM

Default Baseball projection question (BIGGIO)

CLIFF NOTES: Huge Astros fan. Wanna see Biggio hit #3,000. Will be out of state over the summer. Want to calculate best guess of when Biggio will do it. Please advise. PAGING NATE THA GREAT...PAGING NATE THA GREAT

Baseball, seemingly more than any other sport, has a fan base that is fixated on milestone numbers. 3,000 hits falls near the top of the list. I am a lifelong Houston Astros fan. 41-year old, career-long Astro Craig Biggio has 2,930 career hits and is expected to reach 3,000 hits this season.

I am a college student in California. I should be working on the East or West coast after mid-June. I want to be there for that game, and I want to bring a few friends. I am certain that tickets will be snapped up very quickly when he gets within striking distance. They won't let him do this on the road. My question is "what is the best way to go about determining when he gets there?"

I'd put Biggio's chances of missing the mark altogether very low, say between 10-15%. Since 1995 he has played fewer than 140 games only once, that one instance being due to a freak knee injury in 2000 that caused him to miss around 60 games. He shouldn't have as much of a fatigue issue with free agent signing Mark Loretta and super utility guy Eric Bruntlett to spell him on day games after night games and here and there on the road.

Now- let's get down to the numbers on when he should reach the mark. Checking his PECOTA, I see that the 50th percentile of his weighted mean as a .259 average on 330 plate appearances. I would call this plate appearance number low when Biggio and the Astros' entire reason for bringing him back is to rap out those last 70 hits. However, these generally lower PA numbers are part of the beast that is PECOTA.