Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-06-2007, 02:30 PM

Default Loan officer.....anyone do it for a living? Do you like it?

I mentioned before how I'm getting sick of accounting and thinking about a change. I had an interview for a loan officer position yesterday and it was interesting.

Anyone do it for living? What are the pros and cons of the job?

TIA
Old 02-06-2007, 03:23 PM

Default Re: Loan officer.....anyone do it for a living? Do you like it?

I'm not a loan officer, but I am a loan analyst and work closely with loan officers for commercial clients. Pros - big accounts bring big commissions, get to schmooze on golf courses and in restaurants, essentially make your own hours since most of your salary is commissions-based....sky's the limit. Will also get to learn how businessmen structure their entities and operations, very good business training. Cons - small accounts bring small commissions, extremely competitive market conditions nowadays, flat yield curve affects rate spread and profitability. Most money is made on non-interest bearing deposits that your clients bring to your bank, and with rising interest rates, those are becoming harder to get....and if you're starting new, you'll have to generate your own leads or get them from your fellow loan officers. A lot of time spent on the phone and in meetings with clients...if that's no problem, then go for it.

Any other questions, I'll try to help as much as I can.

ScottieK
Old 02-06-2007, 03:34 PM

I did it for a living for about a year. It has its pros and cons.

<u>Pros</u>
- Sky is the limit as far as income potential.
- At most places you get to run your daily activities without too much micro-management (as long as you are selling.)

<u>Cons</u>