Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-05-2007, 09:22 PM

Default Lie About Degree on Resume?

I have an Associates in Business Administration, but never went on to complete a Bachelors program, instead just going straight into the workforce.

I have noticed that a lot of positions mention they "require" a Bachelors degree. The positions I've been interested in I have anywhere from 5-10 years of experience, but I'm worried that if I use an automated application method on a site like Monster, that my lack of a Bachelors degree will get my resume screened out by an automated process.

Unfortunately, not all of the positions provide anything but an automated method to apply, which makes it difficult to get around any filters for Bachelors degrees.

I've never had an employer attempt to verify my degree in the past, so I'm thinking I could "get away" with adding a fake degree to my resume.

I feel I'm more than qualified for a lot of the positions I've seen, but the lack of a Bachelors degree holds me back.

All advice welcome, thanks!
Old 02-05-2007, 09:25 PM

Default Re: Lie About Degree on Resume?

if you wont even get in the door without it, you have nothing to lose by lying.
Old 02-05-2007, 09:29 PM

Do NOT lie about your degree on your application. This is one of the things you cannot lie about. Your future employer will do a background screen and this lie will be exposed and you will then have your offer of employment rescinded.

if you are an ex-pro hire w/ 10+ yrs, then you need not worry about your AA degree.

most companies allow for the online submission of a resume and/or cover letter(sometimes word upload, sometimes ascii upload). this wont get your screened out.

if you run into a site that only had some checkbox for bach/mast degree, etc try to find a way around it. look for HR contacts and try to send in a regular resume