Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2007, 09:44 PM

Default Pot Limit Stud HI strategy

I am new to 2+2, so first of all, greeting to everyone!

I have played stud HI at Stars and Party for a few years (2/4 to 5/10 limits) and read most of the relevant books [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img], so I think I know most of the basic concepts and basic strategy of limit Stud HI reasonably well.

There is a small Stud HI live tourney coming up where I'd like to participate. The only problem is that the format is going to be pot limit with rebuys and I've never played pot limit stud in my life. I wonder if anyone here has actually played pot limit stud and what would be the basic things I should change in my strategy compared to limit?
Old 01-30-2007, 10:53 PM

Default Re: Pot Limit Stud HI strategy

I've not played a lot of pot limit stud, but one of the key changes is that the value of draws decreases greatly and the value of big pairs goes up.

In limit stud, seeing 4th and 5th street is relatively cheap, letting you play more drawing hands. In pot limit, you simply don't have the pot odds to draw to straights and flushes if villains pot and repot it on 3rd and 4th with big pairs.

It also allows more stealing and aggressively play.
Old 01-30-2007, 11:22 PM

IMO, pot limit stud is a ridiculous idea. The game was created with a limit format & that's the way it should be.
Old 01-30-2007, 11:41 PM

I agree, it is a ridiculous idea. However, there are not too many stud tournaments around here, so I am going to play there anyway. I'm just curious if someone here has played pot limit stud and knows how it differs from limit game.
Old 01-31-2007, 12:15 AM

bluff equity with an Ace showing goes WAAAYYY up
Old 01-31-2007, 03:22 AM