Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2007, 01:04 AM

Default My education at the Culinary Institute of America (Year One)

Several posters have asked me to post about the CIA, so here it is. Looks like I'm doing this in two installments. Feel free to ask questions.

Life and Times at the CIA

Senior year of college at Emory University I decided that I might like to cook for a living. So I get a job at a local pizzaria to confirm this desire. I start looking into culinary schools and quickly learn that the best in all the land is the Culinary Institute of America. I also find a good school in my home town which would be less expensive considering I'd be able to live with my parents and bike to school. However, the CIA is the best so if I could get in, that is where I wanted to go. I applied.

The CIA is the only culinary school in America that actually denies some applicants. Their acceptance rate is still around 67% though. Regardless, I was thrilled when I was accepted. They admitted me to the Oct 21, 2002 starting class. There are 16 different starting dates. About 90 students per start date. These would be the 90 students with whom I would take all of my classes for the next two years. Now, 18 of those students are in the Baking and Pastry program, while 72 are with me in the Culinary Arts program. Our 72 are further divided into evening and morning classes. 36 of us would take classes starting at 7am, ending around 1:30. The other 36 take the exact same classes from 2:00-9:00. My 36 are further divided into two groups of 18 for cooking classes. That is, I'd be taking a 6-hour, 5-day a week cooking class with the same 18 people for 9 months. Now, that's a bit of an exageration, halfway through, the 2 AM-groups get rejumbled. Point is, you spend A LOT of time with the same group of students.