Old 01-27-2007, 03:52 AM

Default ev positions

ive been visiting this forum for a few years
but never posted before
i want to change that

i was wondering the following

what is the typical distribution of ev on all positions
obviously the blinds would be negative
but what about the rest of the positions ?
what would be the theoriticly distribution of ev ,if all players would be playing "optimaly"

and how is the ev "typicly" distributed for "winning" players , for example im interested how this relates to some large players databases
and would there be some subtle differences in the distribution regarding limit/no-limit ?
and what would indicating in relation to a given playing style if more ev is gained on early positions in relation to late positions for a specific player?

regards pieter
Old 01-27-2007, 04:37 AM

Default Re: ev positions

Same here, anyone have 500k hands at 5/10 or higher that could share this?
Old 01-27-2007, 04:58 AM

I don't have a database but here are some fairly random thoughts.

Position is important and underrated by the majority of players. It's overrated by very few.

It's more important in NL than limit. For some reasons, note that missing a bet when you have a good hand is much more important in no limit for obvious reasons. Also, you will be much more likely to get priced out of pots when you are drawing out of position than in position. This is less of a problem in limit where draws come cheaper, but even if you have to pay you're getting odds. As a result of position being more important, you should see more variance in terms of money earned on the button versus EP and so forth. The same is true for deep stacks relative to shallow stacks.