Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-26-2007, 08:06 AM

Default MIAWWISUTOC review: \"Down Periscope\"

MIAWWISUTOC = Movies I Always Watch When I Stumble Upon Them On Cable

DOWN PERISCOPE -- 1996

Starring Kelsey Grammer, Lauren Holly, Rob Schneider, Bruce Dern, William H Macy, and Rip Torn.

I don't know why I keep trying to write these reviews. I'm not very good at describing WHY a film or an actor is good or bad. In other words, "I don't know much about movies, I just know what I like." And when I like something, and I think you guys would also like it, I use the "review" format to get your attention.

Here's a movie I love: "Down Periscope". It's literally a laugh a minute. No huge, side-splitting, belly laughs. Just lovable characters that you like being with, and every one of them is funny.

The best way to describe it is to compare it to another comedy you may have seen: "Major League". In "Major League", a team of ragtag misfits is brought together, and given an impossible task (like win the Eastern Division). The team is led by a wily veteran catcher, but mostly consists of unproven rookies with low expectations. The owner of the team wants them to lose, and constantly interferes negatively, making it tougher to reach their goal. The audience likes the boys on the team. We find them funny, and we cheer for them to beat the Yankees.

Now, change the wily veteran catcher to a wily veteran Commanding Officer; the interfering team owner with an interfering Admiral, who dislikes the wily veteran CO; the laughing stock Cleveland Indians with a laughing stock diesel submarine in the nuclear age; and the motley ballplayers with motley crewmen. Now, you're ready for "Down Periscope".