Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-18-2007, 04:08 AM

Default Need advice on poker

I started playing about 6 months ago and have mainly been playing with a few friends over and over. We play two games a week and I have consistently placed in the money almost everytime. I feel like the more books I read, the weaker my play becomes.

Is there any advice to consistently beating a loose low stakes games? I couldn't imagine a pro sitting down at out game and losing, so what can I do to improve in general?

Thanks in advance - new to the forums.
Old 01-18-2007, 04:35 AM

Default Re: Need advice on poker

Old 01-18-2007, 05:01 AM

I advise you first to understand the difference between cash games and tournaments. A lot of people hold tournaments at home which requires players to be quite loose when their stack drops below a certain amount of buy-ins. We tend to see this on television when players are pushing with A4 off or some sub-par hand. I have taught many of my friends who play low limit cash games to be quite tight at those tables. Low limit cash games are filled with donkeys and will stack off to you when you have a premium hand. Recently I was playing .05/.10 because I was training a friend and I tripled up with a flush vs. top pair and mid pair. Players in low limits tend to be really bad thus playing tight is the best strategy. I also recommend signing up for a rakeback site because it is practically free money. I use Rakeback Forever (www.rakebackforever.com) and they have already supplied me with five buy-ins when I wouldn't have gotten anything back without their services.
Old 01-18-2007, 11:30 AM

thanks for the replies. I was winning very consistently while i was playing patiently and supertight.

i dont know if my friends finally adjusted, but i'll check out the book that was reccomended.