Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-16-2007, 07:00 PM

Default grinding.. true micro to 1/2,2/4,3/6 timeframe?

Hey all..

I'm currently grinding away at .10/.20 and .25/.50 with a bankroll of about $170(split between PS and FTP). I want to build my BR to play 3/6 so when I'm playing I can actually make some appreciable monies..

How long did it take you guys to do that? Assuming you are running ok, and MTing 3-4 tables it seems like one would be able to go up a level in 50-70 hours of MT play.. Is that crazy or possible?

-Chry

PS: (since I started playing limit I've been pulling 3.5BB/100 over roughly 12k hands(just got PT))
Old 01-16-2007, 07:18 PM

Default Re: grinding.. true micro to 1/2,2/4,3/6 timeframe?

i've been running similar over about a 5 month timeframe now. I started with 12 bucks at the .02/.04 tables on stars and steadily ground my way up through .05/.10, .10/.20, .25/.50 and now I'm peaking my head into .50/1. You need to keep in mind that that winrate isn't going to be constant. You're going to run bad at times (as I'm finding at .50/1) and you also have to worry about the constantly rising difficulty of the opponents you'll be facing. 50-70 hours of MT play won't turn 170 dollars into 1800. It'll take a lot longer.
Old 01-16-2007, 07:51 PM

For sure.. Sometimes when you are running well it seems like every pocket pair turns to trips, then when you are running bad it is as if trips never happen.. hah..

FWIW, my guesstimate of 50-70 hours would be going from .5/1.00 to 1.00/2.00, not all the way up.. also, that would be with like a 2.5 BB/100h rate..

So, to go to $1800 it'd be about 200-300 hours of MT play time, with around a 2BB/100h rate