Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-16-2007, 04:47 PM

Default Adapting to different players 10NL

I have been playing 10NL at stars for several months now and over 11k hands and showing a steady profit. Most players in this section of the forum will of played there and have a general idea of the standard of play at the site.

My intention is move up to 25NL very soon. As a natural progression at the weekend I entered a 20$ buy in 0.10/0.20 at Tribeca, just to get used to the idea of playing with a bigger buy in.

Now the standard of pre flop play was way way weaker than anything at Stars. I mean very little pre-flop raising, limp limp limp all the way. A 9 handed table you would see at least 6 limpers. Every time you raised you would get at least 3 callers.
Pre flop action made post flop play very difficult. Some of the better players seemed to handle the post flop situations very well. After raising PF with a high pair one of the 2/3 callers would fancy taking a stab and representing the over card that landed. I found myself joining the limpfest in the end.

Basically I know this is a bad way to play but I found I was totally out of my depth, completely inexperienced to the table dynamics. Some of the better player’s stats were like in the region of 60/5. Now is this the best way to play these kinds of tables limp and try to flop a monster or at least a strong draw? Can give me some advice on how deal with these players or tables. I just don’t feel Im ready to move up to 25NL if I don’t know how to cope with these games.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-16-2007, 05:27 PM

Default Re: Adapting to different players 10NL

I dont know how many hands you played at tribecca. If you play a decent amount of hands though, you will find that 60/5 just is'nt profitable. I mean seriously, think about how many hands 60% represents.
Old 01-16-2007, 05:41 PM