Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-16-2007, 01:17 PM

Default how to trade stocks

Hi,
I am a total noob on investment and this way I just want to find out about the basics as much as possible.
How do you trade stocks and stuff (fonds etc?) - I think you need a depot, what's a desireable place to get one (I think you need to pay money to trade stocks? So what are the criteria to choose a depot?)? Are there any good internet sites that teach you basics and keep you informed about what's happening? Which do you recommend? And so on...
I am sure those questions appeal stupid to most of you, but you gotta start somehow and I am thankful for any advice. Please keep in mind that I am from europe if that matters (for opening a depot etc.).
Thanks a lot, David
Old 01-16-2007, 01:53 PM

Default Re: how to trade stocks

Try the Finance & Investing Forum
Old 01-17-2007, 06:30 AM

I don't know how it works in Berlin.

Here in the US, there are two main ways to invest in stocks. You can get an account at a brokerage and then put in orders to buy or sell stocks or ETFs or whatever. The second way is to make an account at a stock fund company and then invest in that company's funds.

Good job for not being afraid to ask questions and get a plan for your finances.
Old 01-17-2007, 12:28 PM