Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-03-2007, 07:26 PM

Default Ask me about working for a credit card company

Hey OOT,
I am getting ready to leave my job, working for a major credit card company. If you have questions about working for one, let me know.

Background-I am a manager in a call center for a Major (top 3) credit card company, we take incoming calls only, no outbuond.
Old 01-03-2007, 07:34 PM

Default Re: Ask me about working for a credit card company

Do you know anyone who works in the collection end who:

(1) has been fined or fired for violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act or other law, or

(2) has been killed by an irate deadbeat?

Also, just out of curiousity, what's the highest interest rate you've ever seen your company charge?
Old 01-03-2007, 07:40 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Do you know anyone who works in the collection end who:

(1) has been fined or fired for violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act or other law, or

(2) has been killed by an irate deadbeat?

Also, just out of curiousity, what's the highest interest rate you've ever seen your company charge?

[/ QUOTE ]

1. We don't have collections at my location, so I don't know. I am sure it has happened. I know people lie to customer's all the time, very rarely does anything happen.

2. Nobody I know that has been killed. As I manager I've been threatened at least 50 times. Some kind of serious. We call the cops for some. One time we called the FBI when somebody threatned to blow up the place.

Highest rate I've seen is 29.99%- Most Credit Cards are based out Delware, because of the lending laws, so any agreement signed is from there and based there. The highest we will ever charge is a 32% rate, I haven't seen it yet.
Old 01-03-2007, 07:41 PM