Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-03-2007, 12:58 AM

Default First Post (Sorta) -

This post is going to be sort of long. So grab a coffee, or... skip it.

I started playing poker about a year and a half ago. Honestly, I didn't want to learn at all, at first. Poker was (as it still is) *everywhere*, and it was annoying as hell. My roommates (lived with three guys from college) played fairly regularly, maybe two times a week. As I worked 55+ hours a week, I always had an excuse - I was either going to work, or tired from working another long shift with a [censored] commute. Then I got two weeks off, and was pretty much cornered and coerced into playing.

To cut to the chase, I was hooked. I'm a somewhat intelligent guy, and the subtleties and complexities of the game (of which I realize now I didn't comprehend the least bit), combined with the psychological aspects, had me pretty much isntantly. Within a short period of time I was regularly beating the home game and another home game I ended up playing. I started playing online, tentatively - I wasn't sure about the whole online thing, so I didn't bother putting any money into it. Naturally, the online game didn't interest me a bit since everyone went all in pretty much every hand.

In the beginning, I seemed to intuitively grasp some of the basic strategic concepts - I was continuation betting (not that I knew what it was) and playing fairly TAG - and completely eff up on other basic concepts - typically slowplaying trips, not betting enough to scare people off their draws, etc. Eventually, it became a hassle to coordinate a regular time for a home game with my work schedule, and I dropped a small deposit on PokerStars.