Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-02-2007, 08:42 PM

Default Advice wanted - This hand has been bothering me for over a day

I'm new to O/8, but have already played a hand that has bothered me since last night, and I'm still not sure how I should have approached it. Please read this and give me any advice that you have on how I should have been thinking during this hand.

Here's the hand (It's a cash game, Pot Limit)...
I'm on the button with 5 limpers. I have A K Q T. The K is suited to the J, but that doesn't really matter in this hand as you'll see. I call the BB. Pot is 6 BB.

My thoughts at the time: The high number of limpers means that there are probably a lot of low cards out already. Hopefully the flop is big cards and there is no low hand so that I can take the whole thing.

Flop: 9h Jc 2s

I love this flop! Only one card to a low hand, no flush possibilities, and any 8, T, Q, or K gives me the top straight.

Everyone checks to me, so I raise half pot (3 BB). Everyone calls. Pot is now 24 BB.

Turn is a 3d. My first thought was that this was bad, but then I thought that it could be good because it eliminated any flush possibilities, I still have 12 outs and maybe when I bet again I'll get a bunch of callers chasing a low.

It's checked around to me, I bet half pot again (12 BB). Everyone calls. Pot is now 96 BB.

River is 6d, someone bets pot and I fold because I have absolutely nothing.

When I think about this, I still think the flop bet was good, but maybe I should have checked on the turn.

What I'm really looking for here are the thoughts of experienced players, because that the time I thought I played it well, but I'm not so sure today.
Old 01-02-2007, 09:00 PM

Default Re: Advice wanted - This hand has been bothering me for over a day

cute post. stack sizes are needed, but generally i would bet the full pot on the flop and turn.