Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-05-2006, 07:54 PM

Default How to be more aggressive at NL? Specific advice needed (a bit long).

I've been playing online since mid-July. I played limit ring games almost exclusively the first five months, and was a consistent winner (close to 10BB/100 hands at .50/$1 after ~10,000 hands). I started playing the NL ring games in mid-December and can't imagine going back to limit.

I started playing NL tourneys in January and I am too conservative it seems. I'm good at picking my spots and reading hands and getting in with the best of it. I have finished in the money a number of times, in the top 100, but never high enough to make the big money. I just recently finished 13th out of 2967 players in a qualifier for a million dollar tourney.

My tourneys go the same way almost every time. I play good hands, I get in with the best of it, I win, but I accumulate chips too slowly to compete with the big stacks. If I run cold or if I suffer a couple bad beats along the way then I am in jeopardy of not making the money. In the million dollar qualifier I got beat on the river. I just went out today all-in pf with A-K against K-Q and a Q came on the flop. This happens every tourney.

So much for the preamble. I've read the Cloutier and McEvoy book, but following their advice on how to win NL tourneys, at least online against such aggressive players, doesn't seem to work.

My question is, what specific differences can I make to my game, and at what stages of the tourney, in order to be more competitive with the ultra-aggressive players that seem to win these tourneys?
Old 02-05-2006, 08:02 PM

Default Re: How to be more aggressive at NL? Specific advice needed (a bit long).

master the art of the pushbot

buy HOH2 and study the inflection point chapter(s)

get to know your friends M and Q
Old 02-06-2006, 08:12 AM