Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-23-2006, 11:52 PM

Default Virtual Trading Games - what strategy to use?

so i'm still a student and i'm thinking of trying a virtual trading game.
it started on the 18th december (5 days ago), and goes on till the 26th of january, so its about 40 days.

i'm a management undergrad student with alot of modules focusing on finance/investment management, but while i learnt alot of stuff, i have no idea how to put it into practice.

anyways i was just wondering, with such a short scope (40days) of trading time,what sort of strategy should be implemented in order to do well?
i'm guessing buy-and-hold won't be of any effect with such a short term.

the markets i can trade in are: United States,Euronext,Frankfurt,London,Milan (for stocks) and just US (for futureS)

what sort of basic analysis should i be doing when lookng at the quotes (eg in Yahoo finance) . I know roughly what P/E is but I have no idea how to put it into use, (seeing as i don't know what the benchmark is to compare it with)
+ should i be using past share movements to analyze return-risk etc?
I've learnt about CAPM and all those stuff but i really don't know how it can be put to practice when actually trading.

what about the January effect? can that be of any significance? I heard smaller/newly starting businesses tend to perform well during january, i'm assuming this was referring to share prices becoming overrated.
is it a possibility that i buy small cap shares now in the hopes of january effect? correctly if i'm totally off track and thinking bazzard.

any help is welcome.

oh and starting capital is GBP100,000...supposedly, but it says my buying power is GBP200,000 , wtf? why's the difference?
Old 12-24-2006, 02:06 AM

Default Re: Virtual Trading Games - what strategy to use?