Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-15-2006, 04:00 AM

Default Best way to learn about building websites

i really want to get into business on the internet. i have little computer background besides surfing the internet/poker and would like to learn enough about web design/development to possibly build, but at least maintain website(s) even if i hire someone to build at first.

i'm not sure if i should take some local community college courses, maybe an online course, or find someone to "tutor" me.

any advice/thoughts are appreciated.
Old 12-15-2006, 10:35 AM

Default Re: Best way to learn about building websites

I would suggest going to borders and grabbing a couple of dummy books.

You can outsource online and get everybody to do everything for you. But then the problem lies any time you need to make a small change you won't be able to do it yourself. Anybody that runs websites should really understand basic html.

Most people for website design I believe use a product like dreamweaver. You can use this to create just about any type of site you'd like. So Maybe you can grab a copy of dreamweaver (you know where) and a dreamweaver book for dummies and grind your way through it.

I choose another path. I use xsitepro to make my websites. Since i'm not out to be a great designer or have an awesome user experience xsitepro allows me to make very simple, clean looking sites. An example is my www.your-best-health.com website. (which I need to put some time into...)

But keep in mind there's limited functionality in using a program like this. Also it has a high price. So If you want full control over your site and be able to do a number of things I definetly would suggest dreamweaver.

Wow I just went into a bad sales copy about xsitepro that's kind of amusing.