Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2006, 09:50 AM

Default ready to switch to 6-max - is SSHE still good?

I've been playing a mix of NL and Limit for almost two years. After a very bad run this past week, I've realized that I'm mostly into playing for bonuses and rakeback and not really that into 4-tabling full ring limit for 1BB/100. So I'm ready to focus on the rakeback / bonus game of choice: 6-max limit (2/4 and 3/6 - whatever WPX has going).

I've read SSHE twice and I'm pretty sure it's the main reason I'm anywhere near break-even online. But as I've played some 6-max, I wonder if ALL of the starting hand recommendations (I use "tight" exclusively) are still valid. Some examples:

1.) They want there to be one limper before you play A9s or 22-66 in MP. MP, in this game, is UTG and UTG+1. I should open-fold these now?

2.) They never play Axo, ever. A9o seems definitely worth a raise if it's folded to me on the button or in SB, right? Can we say the same about A7o?

3.) Any hand that you play from LP, if it's folded to you, you're supposed to raise. I feel like, in these looser games, SB and BB will call (correctly) with anything halfway decent when I raise QTo and 44. What I'm noticing already is that I'll miss the flop a ton, c-bet a ton, get c/r'ed a ton, call light a ton, and pay off goofy donks a ton.

Let's just start with those three. Clear answers there might help me see how to modify my starting hand selection.
Old 12-11-2006, 09:58 AM

Default Re: ready to switch to 6-max - is SSHE still good?

1)Some 2+2ers raise A9s from UTG, UTG+1 is ok for me.
I also raise 66 UTG+1 if the table is semi-tight, openlimp if it's looser. Limp 22 UTG if the table is loose passive.

2)I raise A8o from co. A5o is standard button raise for me. SB I raise any ace.

3) Keep raising QTo and 55 from co, 44 and Q9 from button.