Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-07-2006, 05:23 PM

Default Need Medical Insurance Help

My girlfriend(serious relationship) is having some health issues, which will require some visits to the doctor and quite probably surgery($12,000-$15,000). I've never paid for my own Insurance so I don't really know what I'm looking for. I play poker for a living at midstakes(1/2 2/4 3/6 NL) so paying 15k out of pocket would be possible but very hard for us(especially with tax's coming around again soon).

I figure you guys would know about this since a lot of you play poker professionally...

Whats the best type of plan?
What should I be looking for?
What does it mean when it says "Coinsurance: None" , Does that mean I pay none?And they pay all? Or does it mean they pay none and I pay all?(after the deductable and whatever).

Am I doing something illegal trying to get Health Insurance when I know there will probably be a $15,000 operation even though it hasnt officially been diagnosed?

Anything else?

A big thank you to anyone that can help
Old 12-07-2006, 05:33 PM

Default Re: Need Medical Insurance Help

Any pre-existing condition will not be covered.
Old 12-07-2006, 05:34 PM

Coinsurance is the splitting of costs between the insurer and insured after the deductible is met. An 80/20 coinsurance plan with say a $200 deductible will require you to pay 20% of the covered costs after the $200 deductible has been paid. The insurance company will pay the remaining 80%.

You may have a problem getting them to pay for a pre-existing condition though. I'm not too familiar with that.
Old 12-07-2006, 05:37 PM

[ QUOTE ]