Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-01-2006, 12:39 AM

Default OT: Life update of a beefcake (uber long)

I originally posted this in Skipperbob's roulette thread but decided that this would prolly get more views.

Most here know that I have been playing poker for a living for about a year and a half. About a year and a half ago, I had switched majors for the 87365023875620 time. I had 6 years of college experience, but due to the fact that I wasted 4 years of my life in engineering school, I didn't have anything remotely close to a curriculum acceptable for a degree. I was about 2 full years (yes, including summers) away from getting a degree, and since I have always hated school, the thought of completing my degree made me sick. I enjoyed playing poker, and like everyone else who plays this game, I thought that I was a lot better than I actually was. As such, I declared myself a professional player. I contacted Irieguy about coaching to learn sngs, and I learned a decent amount from him. But, my views on life were very skewed due to my massive ego. I thought that just by having been coached and being johnnybeef I would crush the sng world. Basically, I struggled......a lot. Some how or another, I ended up making enough money to make it out to Vegas 2x to kick it with everyone and I made some great friends who helped me stay a float for a year and a half (the first time being June of '05, the second being Sept of '05.)