Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-30-2006, 09:10 PM

Default never played real money

Hi,

I've been playing on the play money tables for about 3 years now and I just turned 18 so I can now legally gamble online. How much harder is the play money tables compared to the real money. I know its gotta be a little harder because there isn't all of the all-in fests. Well I pretty much just played on party poker sit and gos and won almost everyone i did. I moved over to full tilt a month ago so i could get used to that since i cant play for money at party anymore. i've got my bankroll up to like 30,000 play chips by just playing the sit and gos there. Do you think I should wait till im older to start playing for money or is now ok? I bought the harrington on holdem vol. 1 book and need to read that. I also don't really plan on playing the big levels for a while because my money is limited. I am also concerned about if full tilt tries to audit me in the begining for my first deposit cause i've seen that going around on these forums. I don't have any heating bill or anything that I would be able to send in to prove anything. Does that make a difference? Last question, I want to try and get the rakeback stuff. If i open a new account on ft and make it real money and keep my play money account separate will i get into trouble?

Thanks,
mets
Old 11-30-2006, 09:32 PM

Default Re: never played real money

Can't answer all your questions, but

Yes, real money will be harder. Start at the lowest available level and see how it goes. You shouldn't necessarily expect to lose, but be prepared for it.

If you're legally eligible to play and you do it responsibly, I see no reason to wait.