Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-24-2006, 03:48 PM

Default Picking up the pots when you miss ..

Hia

I have a question I dont seem have the knack of picking up pots when I miss ..

Quick background : I started playing a couple of years ago on UB - Only ever played on the low limits ( 0.05\0.10 ) reason for that is that I cant justify whacking a lot of cash in poker each month etc. Anyway Ive grinded success at this level cashing out around $400 so Ive been happy.

Ive recently moved to 888 as UB was lagging and I have found the players terrible my initial 75 investment is 280ish 9 days later - nothing more exciting than playing good hands waiting to hit then rally it out. I very rarely bluff because I have found I get called.

What I struggle with is getting 1 - 2 callers eg with AQ having missed the flop and turn comes - no help .. I then feel obligied to bet on fourth street and I end up building up a big pot that I check on the river coz I realise Im probably beat or worried that making a big ( 3/4 pot ) size bet chances are Ill get called and lose my stack...

Dont get me wrong Im a happy grinder just you know - I can feel an area to address in my play

Any thoughts I'd appreciate or clarification on whats nearly turned into a rant [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Thanks
J
Old 11-24-2006, 09:27 PM

Default Re: Picking up the pots when you miss ..

[ QUOTE ]
getting 1 - 2 callers eg with AQ having missed the flop and turn comes - no help .. I then feel obligied to bet on fourth street and I end up building up a big pot that I check on the river coz I realise Im probably beat or worried that making a big ( 3/4 pot ) size bet chances are Ill get called and lose my stack...

[/ QUOTE ]