Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-20-2006, 12:45 AM

Default Aggression and Creating Reads

Hi, my name is Frosteater and I'm a newb. Not just to this board but to poker. So bare with me if the following might seem like the most stupid thing you read in a while, I'm trying to improve.

I started playing poker a few months ago and began with basically playing my hands more or less for value. A bit slowplay here, some semi-bluffing there. Nothing to brag about. It was enough to win at $0.1/$0.25 6Max, but I encountered serious problems against aggressive players who took control of the action.

Then I stumbled over Tien's very inspiring 6 Max fundamentals for SSNL players and I like to think that I understood the concept. At least it was pretty clear that I needed to become more aggressive, if I wanted to improve my game (or develop one).

So far, so good, I went back to $0.05/$0.1 and tried my best to enhance my game. I think I succeeded to a degree, but ended up losing money. From losing small, winning big pots to the exact opposite. I thought about the cause for this and ended up with a rather freightening observation: I started to underestimate the opponent.

In fact, there's the following dilemma: