Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2006, 07:06 AM

Default VPIP and PFR %?

Hello i'm fairly new to PLO, i'm mainly NL holdem player. However, i want to learn this game, my biggest question is, what kind of VPIP and PFR for 6max PLO, is ideal?
Old 11-15-2006, 04:27 PM

Default Re: VPIP and PFR %?

help anyone?
Old 11-15-2006, 04:41 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Hello i'm fairly new to PLO, i'm mainly NL holdem player. However, i want to learn this game, my biggest question is, what kind of VPIP and PFR for 6max PLO, is ideal?

[/ QUOTE ]

I personally don't play 6-max, but overall I think it's hard to say what is "ideal" in omaha -- a lot of people are successful with different styles. In 8-9 handed games, my #'s are like 31/18, but some very good players play looser or tighter. Also, when stacks get very deep, against bad opponents my #'s go up to like 41/30 or higher.
Old 11-15-2006, 04:47 PM

This is a common question, and there is no one answer. Most here are probably sick of answering it.

Full ring, most of your money comes from your best 15% hands (i.e. well co-ordinated hands in position). Some people will play just these hands, fold everything else and show a nice profit. Many of the top players typically play in the neighbourhood of 35%, heavily biased towards LP. However, anything in this range is justifiable because Omaha has a large range of hands that can be played for near neutral EV.

Shorthanded implies that you should loosen these numbers up a bit, especially if you like to play tight (i.e. 15% VPIP full ring). But the "ideal" range is still pretty high (probably from around 20 to 40%).

As for PFR, too much depends on your opponent's stacks, how they react to pre-flop raises, and your position relative to the passives and maniacs to give you any specific numbers. Of course these apply in HE too, but everything is exaggerated in PLO.