Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-14-2006, 01:45 AM

Default Your part-time job as a teenager - The worst thing you had to do..

It could be a summer job, or a part-time job, but it should be something you had as a 14 to 18 year-old to make some bucks while you were still in school.

When I was 16 I worked as a stock boy at Kresge's (they used to be part of Kmart). They had a litte restaurant/cafe style thing that some of you might rememeber. It was horseshoe shaped sections with individual barstools.

Once a month I had to clean the grease-trap that was underneath the main sink in the kitchen. I used to have to climb a ladder in the stock room to get at it.

I would scoop a bucket of the foulest smelling stuff known to man from the grease-trap, take it down the ladder, put it in a thick bag, go puke, and then head up the ladder again for another bucket.

I told a plumber friend of mine about this and he said that the stuff in grease traps is worse than raw sewage when it comes to the puke factor.

What's the worst think you had to do in your part-time job as a kid?
Old 11-14-2006, 01:48 AM

Default Re: Your part-time job as a teenager - The worst thing you had to do..

I almost enjoyed the grease trap because whoever was doing it with me would invariably turn the most awesome shades of green. Also I always got sloshed on the bosses dime before doing it.

My least favorite job was cleaning and putting away dry suits after open water certification. Its not cool to pee in your dry suits people, not cool at all.
Old 11-14-2006, 01:50 AM

high school summer job for min. wage - the prep week before summer school started. Basically just carrying heavy crap to and from classrooms. Doing whatever the teachers asked you to do. Filing papers, filling envelopes, etc.