Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Other Gambling Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2006, 08:38 PM

Default Blackjack: Splitting 8s against a face card is a misconception!

Does anyone have any good info on why you should split 8s against a face card? 30% of the time you are up against 20, and the other times he can have 18 or 19 or draw to those.
Old 11-07-2006, 10:24 PM

Default Re: Blackjack: Splitting 8s against a face card is a misconception!

I would think the main reason is a 16 vs a face card just plains suck the majority of the time, especially since you have to hit it.

Splitting the 8's gives you a lot of better options since 2 through 7 are easier to hit (or double if a 3), plus 9 and 10 is an ok holding as well.

However, I'm not a Blackjack expert. This is just what seems plausible to me.
Old 11-07-2006, 11:11 PM

cqwahl is basically correct. From what I remember. 16 vs. 10 is a boarderline decision in terms on hit or stand. Basic strategy says hit. If you use the HiLo count then the index number for standing is 0. FYI, 0 is the count at the beginning of a shoe. Splitting 8s gives you a chance to win, or break even. It just sucks less!
Old 11-07-2006, 11:11 PM

It's a little thing called math.

If you don't believe it in, then just give basic strategy a pass.
Old 11-07-2006, 11:48 PM

You still lose more than you win splitting 8's vs. a 10. However, you lose less than you would otherwise lose by hitting or staying. Therefore, even though you still lose, you lose less than you otherwise would, which saves you money over the long run.