Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-31-2006, 08:36 PM

Default GPITW Day 21-22

On the Importance of Arrogance

So the last update got me to thinking. A couple people used the word “arrogant” to describe the character in my stories. As I said before, I readily admit to having my bouts with arrogance. And while arrogance is not something I condone (it is, by definition, a “bad” trait to have), I’m going to use this space to talk about why arrogance isn’t as bas as a lot of people think.

In my critical pubescent years, I worked as a caddie for the most exclusive country club in Milwaukee. I fit right in to my job. I had a love of golf and a healthy respect and curiosity toward the membership. I worked my way up the ranks…a feat that wasn’t very hard to accomplish. Being around other 14 year olds, all I had to do was show up every day and keep clubs clean to beat out 90% of my associates. My golf knowledge took me the rest of the way, and by my second year, I was a member of an elite group of five caddies. Every weekend, four of these five caddies were tapped to go out with the Morning Group. The Morning Group was a foursome of basically the coolest members in the club. They were incredibly young by the club’s standards (minimum age for full membership: 35), and they were all egotistical power brokers. They were either single and dating A-list Milwaukee chicks (go ahead and laugh) or married to gorgeous 20-something trophy wives. They often stayed out all night Friday night to make their 730am tee times and they smoked huge cigars, drank bloody marys, gambled for thousands of dollars per round, and told dirty jokes. In other words, they were gods to a 15-year old kid. It was the easiest thing in the world to wake up at the crack of dawn and lug huge golf bags around a hilly course in the middle of a sweltering summer if you knew you got