Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-02-2006, 10:32 PM

Default Limit strategy?

I have been reading sklanskys book on small stakes hold em.. I am currently at the part of the book of postflop drawing hands...Sklansky suggests that you should bet and raise with your strong drawing hands as if they were made hands, since it is all about how often a hand will win the pot if there is a showdown...Like holding KQ on a J-10-3 board, he suggests to bet this KQ as if it were AJ....I am new to limit poker...So I am asking for advice here...Is this a good strategy? Have any of you had success with this strategy? Please, any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Online results would be better since I am an online player...

Matt Yankley
Old 11-02-2006, 10:52 PM

Default Re: Limit strategy?

Betting or raising is based on your pot equity so raising with a drawing hand is dependent on the number of people in the hand at the time of action. You must also figure in the amount of fold equity you gain by raising if you have less pot equity than needed to make a raise based on the merrits of the draw itself.

For example: In a HU situation you don't want to raise with your draw unless you can get villain to fold a better hand. If villain will not fold a better hand then you have no fold equity and you are better off calling...if your implied odds allow you to do so.
Old 11-03-2006, 06:25 AM

You can also use this play to try and get a free card if you think villain will call and check the turn.