Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-29-2006, 02:16 PM

Default Wanting to get into sports betting

Hey everyone, n00b post here [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

With my interest in poker declining and my interest in sports increasing, I want to try getting into some light sports betting. I have around $200 I can use as a bankroll, so I'd like to start placing wagers on the NBA. I'm totally new to sports betting, really know nothing about it at all. I've read through the FAQ multiple times. I'm really not sure on how to get going, though.

I was looking through some books for lines for this week, and it seems like a lot of them don't have anything yet. When do they usually come out?

As it pertains to basketball, how do you recognize a good line?

On bet365, they have the Suns at -5 against the Lakers for Tuesday. I was thinking of putting money on this for my first wager. The Suns are such a high-scoring team that I think 5 points is easy to cover. Phil Jackson hasn't returned and Kobe's knee is still iffy (though I think he's playing), so I think the Suns are likely to cover the spread. Does that sound reasonable?

Any advice or flames or anything is highly appreciated [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 10-29-2006, 02:36 PM

Default Re: Wanting to get into sports betting

Flame number 1.

I don't know enough about NBA to impart any game specific advice, but I thought I'd take a look at this page to make sure you were doing sensible things.

Now I see a -4.5 there, but am aware the lines are sometimes a way behind on that site, so I went to pinnacle to see what the drop down menu said about -5.5 -103 (thinking of dropping to -5 and seeing what odds I get.)

Lo and behold, I find someone who hasn't done their homework,
Tue 10/31 503 Phoenix Suns -4.5 -105