Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-27-2006, 01:11 PM

Default Urgent Help Please! What to do when missing the flop...

I am a relative beginner at Limit HE- been playing online for about 10 months. Playing strictly at the nanos, within my BR.

I have GSIH and SSHE. My preflop play is quite good- still sme work to do, but it's not far off I think.

BUT....

I have real difficulty when I have a decent hand that misses the flop. If I'm OOP and I have OC's, then I tend to lead out - ususally getting called down and flashed a small PP or similar.

If I have position, and it's checked to me, then I usually bet- my thinking is that if I check then my opponent(s) will lead out on the turn and I won't know whether this is because they now know I have nothing.

Would a good strategy be:
OUT OF POSITION:-
I have a good hand like AK.
I raise it up PF
I miss the flop
I bet and if I get called, I fold UI on the turn

IN POSITION:-
I have a good hand like AK.
I raise it up PF
I miss the flop
It's checked to me, I bet and if I get called, I check the turn for a free card (INSTEAD OF FIRING ANOTHER ONE)

I just can't get my head around this aspect of the game. It's making me a break-even player. The bets that I do make when I hit, I am just spewing away when I miss.

I don't need specific examples and don't want to post specific hands. What I am after is an explanation on the thought process of how you approach these situations.

Please Help! Any good articles, links to relevant threads MOST appreciated.

I need to get this sorted soon- I'm fine with most other aspects of the game (not to say I have mastered them, but I UNDERSTAND the principles). I don;t really tilt and have loads of patience.

Ian
Old 10-27-2006, 01:37 PM

Default Re: Urgent Help Please! What to do when missing the flop...