Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-24-2006, 09:19 AM

Default Making playing expense - My recent B&M experience

I am a newb, but think I have a fairly educated game compared to most of the other players at my local B&M. I don't think I am too tight. Definitely not squeaky tight ABC, but I usually only play a hand when I know I have the best of it.

I just came back from one of the worst losing nights at my local B&M. I haven't been playing long, and I only play one time a week at the B&M's $1-$2 NL game. My poker bankroll has never been negative, but never higher than $1200. Week after week, I see one or two wild and crazy players just run over the table. Catching lucky cards, sucking out, etc. I have been just chalking it up to their good luck, but it seems like they are half running over the table, and half playing great poker. They seem fearless and everyone else seems fearful of them. These wild players don't usually call down with a crappy kicker, take longshot draws, etc. So I know they have some decent poker knowlege. For the most part.

What I have been noticing is they make each hand very expensive. Therefore, the pot builds, and the payoff is bigger. The table becomes afraid of them. They raise and reraise and take many pots down uncontested. Most of the table does not like playing against them. I see them go broke, a few times, but many times I see them leave with major wins. Like $1000 wins at a $1-2 $100 max buy in. I do see TAGs have winning nights at the tables, but not those major wins.

I read many 2p2 posts and read many books. I play my TAG and sometimes slightly LAG game. I have only on rare occasions had big winning nights. I don't usually lose much, but a good night for me is being up 1, maybe 2 buy-ins. I have had some disasterous nights playing against these LAGS.