Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-11-2006, 01:52 PM

Default Fired for the first time and dealing with it.

Alright, here's the backstory. I'm a grad student and I had a job doing insurance work which is not related to my field at all, but the pay was decent and they worked well around my school hours (my intended career-field in the future is Criminal Justice).
The reason for getting fired was for being excessively late twice in a short period of time. The first time I forgot that I had set my alarm for 7pm the day before as I took a nap and overslept and was 3 hours late. At this point had a discussion with my boss about how being three hours late is unacceptable and that I wouldn't let it happen again.

After the first time, I had always set my regular alarm and then set the one on my phone as a backup.

Well I end up going out with some of my buddies to celebrate one of their birthdays and it ends up being a late night. The next morning I wake up at 9:15 and I was supposed to be at work at 8. I didn't set my regular alarm and my phone died in the middle of the night. I immediately call my boss and tell him "sorry that I'm late, but I just got up, I'll be in there as soon as possible." So I get to the office, get to my cubicle and start doing my regular routine and my boss comes over and says "we need to talk." We have a little discussion about how this is unacceptable and that I should just go home and that I can pick up my check on Friday.